We’ll Walk in the Darkness and Say Good-Bye

Wandering in my mind,

I grow weary of the road ahead.

The path seems closed off, desolate.

My breath is all that echoes and all that carries.

I walk, searching for a sign, only to spot an omen.

Your shadow lurks behind me, always a pace away.

Your presence becomes tangible and my fear becomes visceral.

The road narrows at this point.

My psyche is submerged and my body flails about.

What we formed, it is so pure and so fragile.

An aggregate of mind and body, so beautiful.

Our journey must come to an end.

Beauty must flourish, not wither.

My new path must be dug in.

I leave you now.

Though not forever.

Leave a Reply

